Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
Hiding warning messages when user loses permissions for an object
Posted by Lassi Lehtinen (M-Files) on 19 March 2019 04:50 PM

1     Overview

M-Files Desktop shows a warning message if the user will lose read, edit or change permissions for an object after creating the object or after modifying it. These warning messages can be controlled with the registry setting below.

2     Products and Versions

M-Files version 10.0 and later.

3     Solution

If the warning message is not wanted you can use the following registry setting on users' computers to suppress it.

Registry key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Motive\M-Files\<version>\Client\Common\<vault name>\DocumentPropertiesUI
Value name ShowLosingIndividualAccessesWarning
Value type DWORD
Value data Value (default = 7) can be a bitwise combination of:            
0 (no message)
1 (message about read access)
2 (message about edit access)
4 (message about change permissions access)

For example if you want a notification of losing read and edit access but not change permissions access the value would be 3.

(1 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful

Help Desk Software by Kayako case